Connect with us

College Basketball

NCAAB: 100 Candidates for College Basketball’s 2020/21 All-Name Team



ncaab: 100 candidates for college basketball’s 2020/21 all name team

NCAAB: 100 Candidates for College Basketball’s 2020/21 All-Name Team

KC Hankton #23 of the Saint Louis Billikens. Yong Teck Lim/Getty Images/AFP

The NCAA announced earlier this month that the 2020/21 college basketball season will be allowed to begin as early as Nov. 25, after months of waiting and uncertainty surrounding the COVID-19 global pandemic. With hoops on the horizon and schools gearing up for a concise, conference-heavy schedule, there are 350 schools that are full members of 32 Division I basketball conferences, plus seven more that are in transition from NCAA Division II. Each of those teams consist of 15 players, ranging in class standing.

I went through all 5,355 rostered athletes to find the best 100 names in the nation. Here are my findings (note that the numbers do not coincide to a ranking, they are not in any order):

  1. Davonte Higginbottom – UMass
  2. KC Hankton – St. Louis
  3. Taylor Funk – St. Joseph’s
  4. Chereef Knox – St. Joseph’s
  5. Connor Crabtree – Richmond Spiders
  6. Fatts Russell – Rhode Island

Fatts Russell #1 of the Rhode Island Rams. Al Bello/Getty Images/AFP

After putting his name in for the NBA Draft after the 2019/20 season, Fatts Russell has decided to return to the Ryan Center in Kingsport, R.I. for what he is calling, ‘his last dance.’ The Rams’ star guard averaged 18.8 points, 4.4 assists, 3.4 rebounds and 2.9 steals in his junior year. If he can improve upon his junior season per-game output, Rhode Island will compete with Richmond and Saint Louis for the Atlantic 10 championship.

Betting sites do not currently offer odds for Rhode Island to win the National Championship.

  1. Chuba Ohams – Fordham
  2. Brycen Bush – Wichita State
  3. Isaiah Poor Bear-Chandler – Witchita State
  4. George Christopoulos – Tulsa
  5. Buay Koka – Tulane
  6. Tyson Jolly – SMU
  7. Caleb Broodo – Houston
  8. Bitumba Baruti – East Carolina
  9. Byron Breland III – NJIT
  10. Hakon Hjalmarsson – Binghamton
  11. Antonio Rizzuto – Albany
  12. Bash Wieland – Bellarmine
  13. Chance McSpadden – Stetson
  14. Mahamadou Diawara – Stetson
  15. Justus Rainwater – Florida Gulf Coast
  16. Mitch Lightfoot – Kansas

Mitch Lightfoot #44 of the Kansas Jayhawks. Tom Pennington/Getty Images/AFP

Entering in what will likely be his final season in Lawrence, Kan., Mitch Lightfoot is back after redshirting last year. The 6-foot-8, 225-pound forward will play a big factor in the Jayhawks defensive scheme. He has built a reputation for taking charges and enters 2020/21 tied for 20th on the Kansas career blocked shots list with 98. Head coach Bill Self’s team will be atop the Big 12 and in the mix for a national title come March.

Kansas is currently +2000 to win the National Championship on Bovada.

  1. Jonathan Kabongo – Virginia Tech
  2. John Bol Ajak – Syracuse
  3. Shea Rush – North Carolina
  4. Josh Nickelberry – Louisville
  5. David Didenko – Georgia Tech
  6. Clyde Trapp – Clemson
  7. Montavious Murphy – Kansas State
  8. Johnathan Tchamwa Tchatchoua – Baylor
  9. D.J. Funderburk – NC State
  10. Blake Seacat – Oklahoma
  11. Isaac Likekele – Oklahoma State
  12. Francisco Farabello – TCU
  13. Kamaka Hepa – Texas
  14. Khalif Battle – Butler
  15. Jordan Scurry – Creighton
  16. Oantelis Xidias – DePaul
  17. Mac McClung – Texas Tech
  18. Jamorko Pickett – Georgetown
  19. Ike Eke – Marquette
  20. Theo John – Marquette
  21. Akok Akok – Connecticut

Akok Akok #23 of the Connecticut Huskies. Rich Schultz/Getty Images/AFP

6-foot-9, 210-pound Akok Akok was born in Sudan but moved to New Hampshire as a young child. He arrived in Storrs, Conn. as a freshman in 2018 and broke into the starting lineup in 2019. Akok quickly became the anchor of the UConn defense and was among the national and conference leaders in blocked shots until he suffered a season-ending injury in the 25th game of the season. He will be a redshirt sophomore this season and is slated to be of full health and return to the team in January. The Huskies are a year older in 2020/21 and finished fifth in the American Conference last year.

UConn is currently +2800 to win the National Championship on Bovada

  1. KyKy Tandy – Xavier
  2. Tarik Cool – Idaho State
  3. Ja’Varay Christmas – Idaho
  4. Finn Fleute – Montana State
  5. Tre’Shon Smoots – Northern Colorado
  6. Izayah Mauriohooho-Le’afa – Sacramento State
  7. Phlandrous Fleming Jr. – Charleston Southern
  8. Leroy Butts IV – Radford
  9. Austin Ash – Iowa
  10. Colin Castleton – Michigan
  11. Thorir Thorbjarnarson – Nebraska
  12. Boo Buie – Northwestern
  13. Kofi Cockburn – Illinois
  14. Elijah Pepper – UC Davis
  15. Kai Toews – UNC Wilmington
  16. Thatcher Stone – William & Mary
  17. Carrington McCaskill – FAU
  18. Everett Winchester – FAU
  19. Japannah Kellogg III – Green Bay
  20. PJ Pipes – Green Bay
  21. CJ Gettelfinger – Oakland
  22. Ebube Ebube – Manhattan
  23. Izaiah Brockington – Penn State
  24. Gob Gabriel – Monmouth
  25. Luke Bumbalough – Ball State
  26. Darion Spottsville – Eastern Michigan
  27. Rocket Watts – Michigan State

Head coach Tom Izzo of the Michigan State Spartans talks to Rocket Watts #2. Gregory Shamus/Getty Images/AFP

Last season, Spartans guard Rocket Watts averaged 9 points, 1.7 assists and 2.3 rebounds as a freshman. With the absence of Cassius Winston and Xavier Tillman, Tom Izzo’s team needs someone to step up and takeover games in the Big 10. Watts will be asked to be one of the team’s primary ball-handlers and has serious potential to rack up numbers, all while being a lockdown defender on the perimeter.

Michigan State is currently +1800 to win the National Championship on Bovada.

  1. Princewill Anosikle – Howard
  2. Spirit Ricks – Norfolk State
  3. Logan Wolf – Northern Iowa
  4. Brock Pappas – Valparaiso
  5. Camden Vander Zwaag – Air Force
  6. Moses Wood – UNLV
  7. Kuba Karwowski – Utah State
  8. Zach Pfaffenberger – Sacred Heart
  9. Chico Carter Jr. – Murray State
  10. Aidan McQuade – Colorado
  11. Lok Wur – Oregon
  12. Volodymyr Markovetskyy – Washington State
  13. Andrew Funk – Bucknell
  14. Leo O’Boyle – Lafayette
  15. Mario McKinney Jr. – Missouri
  16. Prosper Obidiebube – Chattanooga
  17. Kolton Kohl – Abilene Christian
  18. Sha’markus Kennedy – McNeese State
  19. Pape Diop – Southeast Louisiana
  20. Bubba Furlong – Sam Houston
  21. Skyler Baggs – Southern
  22. Wanjang Tut – Omaha
  23. JC Tharrington – Appalachian State
  24. Jarkel Joiner – Ole Miss

Jarkel Joiner #0 of the Cal State Bakersfield Roadrunners. Chris Coduto/Getty Images/AFP

After spending his first two years at California State Bakersfield and sitting out due to transfer rules in 2019/20, Jarkel Joiner is returning home to Oxford, Miss. and suiting up for the Rebels. Ole Miss returns much of its depth from last season and added a pair of immediate-impact graduate transfers for 2020/21, as well as signing the team’s highest-rated recruit in school history. Joiner, who averaged 15.6 points per game as a sophomore with the Roadrunners, has an opportunity to step up into the two-guard role and become an important piece for a team that could surprise some people.

Ole Miss is currently +2500 to win the National Championship on BetOnline.

  1. Jake Scoggins – Arkansas State
  2. Coleman Sparling – UT Arlington
  3. JoJo Walker – Portland
  4. Ferron Flavors Jr. – California Baptist
  5. JJ Rhymes – Grand Canyon
  6. Travis Wagstaff – Utah Valley

Source * – * Source link